Perspective

I remember my first day here at MICA. A new world lay ahead of me and I could not wait to dive deep. Straight outta home for the first time ever, sure I was apprehensive and nervous, for this was the beginning of a new phase in my life. Fresh out of an engineering college and straight into a MBA college, it could not get more cliched than this. It seemed like I was in turn to follow the same old “get good grades- take science- do engineering- do MBA- blah blah blah” road like every other kid. However, here I am, writing this from my hostel room in the middle of the night, realizing how far I’ve come and how wrong I was. And the reason behind this is this place known as MICA.

Some call MICA the Mecca of Marketing. Some call MICA the best Institute to get into for advertising and marketing. Some call MICA the unconventional B-school. Some call MICA the place which perfectly respects, hones, and appreciates the intersection of left brain and right brain.

I call MICA the place which gives you the freedom to explore and discover yourself. It gives you a chance to have a wholesome experience, to play, act, sing, dance, write, try your hand at photography, designing or even radio jockeying.

I call MICA the place that embraces diversity and my oh my do I stand by it. Every batch consists of students from all over India and maintains a healthy sex ratio of 1:1 or even more in favor of women. I’ve spent 2 months here and I still see myself in instances which make me go like “Damn, I could not have thought like that by myself”. Two years here help you build a character, understand and respect different point of views. The diversity is beautiful which helps you in gaining different perspectives.

I call MICA my one big family. MICAns truly believe in unity and communal living. We always have each others back. And we never sleep. The campus bursts to life at night and it is commonplace to stumble upon exciting conversations and join in at any given point of day and night. Don’t be surprised to find a designer, lawyer, dentist and philosophy graduate sitting together discussing how AI is changing the world.

The classes over here are equally vibrant. We are taught subjects like Research, Digital Marketing Analytics, Semiotics and Imagining India that set us apart from the rest. Our professors are some of the best in the business and there is knowledge that can be absorbed from anywhere everywhere.

And the campus? Aah where do I even begin from! A lush green campus, safely tucked away like an exotic resort, away from the hustle and bustle of the city, rich with about 3,500 trees planted all over the campus. It also houses 2 rescued beagles named Frozo and Pfaff, many langoors and about 30 or more peacocks.

So this is the MICA that not many people know about. The current batches love it and the alums fondly remember it as place which gave them the best 2 years of their lives.

Can’t wait to share my next blog with you all where I talk about one of the major factors constituting the MICAn experience, our committees and then one committee in particular.

Looking forward to hear from you all. Until then, wishing you both health and happiness. Cheers!

One thought on “Perspective

Leave a comment